Agency RSS

Students Bring Research Work to State Capitol Feb. 29

                                    News Release

Contacts: Jack R. Warner, Executive Director and CEO

Janelle Toman, Director of Communications

Telephone: (605) 773-3455

Fax: (605) 773-5320



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Thursday, February 23, 2012


Students Bring Research Work to State Capitol Feb. 29


PIERRE, S.D. – The research work of a dozen undergraduate students from South Dakota colleges and universities will be front and center at the State Capitol Wednesday as these students display their projects for state lawmakers and the public.


The 2012 Student Research Poster Session runs from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 29, at the State Capitol Rotunda. The public is invited to attend, and enjoy ice cream courtesy of South Dakota State University.


The 12 represent students statewide who are pursuing research in a variety of disciplines. “This work speaks to the creativity and industriousness of our students and their desire to pursue a challenging education,” said Jack Warner, the Board of Regents’ executive director and CEO. “Research involvement requires an initiative going well beyond that of the regular classroom, but the payoff in developing problem-solving skills and special expertise is greatly enhanced,” he said.


Now in its 15th year, the poster session features students from public, private, and tribal colleges. In addition to the students’ research, there will be displays from the state’s six public universities, the South Dakota Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN), and South Dakota’s Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR). These higher education institutions and programs have greatly benefited from the state’s investments in research, Warner said.


The students chosen to participate in Wednesday’s event are:

  • Chris White, Rapid City, representing Black Hills State University
  • Melissa Walther, Mobridge, representing Dakota State University
  • Claire Kopfmann, Minneota, Minn., and Sarah Hintz, Woodbury, Minn., representing Northern State University
  • Victoria A. Bierwirth, Custer, representing South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • Seth T. Harris, Sioux Falls, and Nicholas Goodhope, Sturgis, representing South Dakota State University
  • Daniel Davies, Vermillion, and Sara Boyum, West Point, Neb., representing The University of South Dakota
  • Mathias Godsil, Papillion, Neb., representing Mount Marty College and BRIN
  • Alex Romero-Frederick, Wanblee, and Louie Thunderhawk, Old Ring Thunder Community near Mission, representing Sinte Gleska University and EPSCoR




On the Net:

2012 Poster Session Abstract Booklet: