Agency RSS

State Awards $325,000 In Tobacco Prevention Grants

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, January 11, 2013

CONTACT: Linda Ahrendt, (605) 773-3737


State Awards $325,000 In Tobacco Prevention Grants


PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Tobacco Control Program awarded $325,000 in grant funding to 13 community/school partnerships statewide.


Each partnership was granted $25,000 to improve tobacco prevention and control efforts in their communities. Coalition activities focus on one of the three tobacco control goal areas: preventing initiation of tobacco use among young people, promoting tobacco cessation among adults and youth, and eliminating nonsmokers’ exposure to secondhand smoke. This is the third year of community/school partnership grant funding.


“Tobacco use is the leading cause of preventable death in the United States and South Dakota alike. The work that the coalitions accomplish through these partnership grants can help reduce tobacco’s impact on our communities,” said Colleen Winter, director of health and medical services for the South Dakota Department of Health.


Community/school partnerships carry out a variety of tobacco prevention activities throughout the year. Past efforts have included working with local school districts on tobacco-free buildings and grounds policies and evidence-based tobacco prevention curriculum, working with local parks and recreation departments to provide education on the importance of tobacco-free youth recreation, and disseminating information to housing managers and childcare providers about the dangers of secondhand smoke.


“The steps these communities are taking to prevent and control tobacco use have a positive influence on the lives of adults and children alike. Every step taken to reduce tobacco use and secondhand smoke exposure throughout the state is a step in the right direction,” Winter said.


The Department of Health’s Tobacco Control Program coordinates state efforts to reduce death and disease caused by tobacco use. The program’s efforts include: providing technical assistance and support to individuals, businesses, healthcare providers, and educational institutions; offering funding and support to local entities; conducting statewide public education campaigns; operating the State’s tobacco QuitLine; and conducting surveillance and program evaluation.


Reducing tobacco use is a key objective of the department’s Health 2020 Initiative.







See list of awarded partnerships below:


Partnership Name

Communities Served

Coalition for a Drug Free SD

Canton, Harrisburg, Sioux Falls

Rural Sioux Empire Coalition for Youth

Colton, Dell Rapids, Lennox, Hartford, Tea

Canli Coalition

Dewey and Ziebach Counties

EMPOWER Coalition of the Southern Hills, Inc.

Fall River County

Milbank Tobacco Coalition


Mitchell Tobacco Prevention Coalition and Unfiltered Reality


SET-Free Coalition

Sioux Falls

Spearfish Community Coalition


Spink County Coalition

Spink County

Action for the Betterment of the Community Coalition


Watertown Tobacco Free Coalition


Michael Glynn Memorial Coalition

White River

Yankton Tobacco Coalition