Agency RSS

Board Announces Programs Eligible For Build Dakota Scholarship

            Office of Gov. Dennis Daugaard

500 E. Capitol Ave.

Pierre, S.D. 57501







FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Friday, February 13, 2015

CONTACT:  Tony Venhuizen or Kelsey Pritchard at 605-773-3212



Board Announces Programs Eligible For Build Dakota Scholarship


PIERRE, S.D. – Today the Build Dakota Scholarship Board announced the 54 program options within eight, high-need industry areas that will be covered in the first year of the scholarship program.  The industry areas covered are as follows:


  • Automotive
  • Building Trades/Construction
  • Energy Technicians
  • Engineering Technicians
  • Licensed Practical Nursing (select programs)
  • Medical Lab Technicians
  • Precision Manufacturing
  • Welding


For a complete list of the program options at South Dakota’s four technical institutes, go to http://doe.sd.gov/builddakota.


Scholarship applications will be available Feb. 17. The scholarship is available for new, incoming students in the 2015-16 school year. It is expected that approximately 300 scholarships will be awarded in the first year.


In-state and out-of-state students are eligible to apply. Scholarship applicants must be accepted into their program of interest. Recipients of the scholarship must enroll full-time and complete their educational program on schedule. The Build Dakota Scholarship will cover tuition and fees, books, equipment and other related program expenses. Scholarship recipients will commit to stay in South Dakota to work in their field of study for three years following graduation.


The Build Dakota Scholarship program was announced in late 2014. It is made possible by a $25 million donation from T. Denny Sanford and a $25 million grant by Gov. Dennis Daugaard from the South Dakota Future Fund. Build Dakota aims to support students entering high-need workforce programs at South Dakota’s technical institutes to fill the state’s technical career fields with skilled professionals.