Agency RSS

25 Students Receive Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship



            Office of Gov. Dennis Daugaard

500 E. Capitol Ave.

Pierre, S.D. 57501






FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Friday, July 17, 2015

CONTACT:  Janelle Toman, Board of Regents, 605-773-3455


25 Students Receive Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship

PIERRE, S.D. – Twenty-five South Dakota college students have been awarded a state scholarship that supports new teachers who serve in critical-need teaching areas. Gov. Dennis Daugaard today announced the second group of recipients in the Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship Program.

“These scholarships support our high school graduates as they obtain a teaching degree in South Dakota. They then remain here and contribute to the state and its citizens by working in a critical-need teaching area,” Gov. Daugaard said. “These 25 future educators will give back so much to the South Dakota students and communities where they will work. We are pleased to support their educational efforts.”

Scholarship recipients agree to remain in South Dakota and work in a critical-need teaching area for five years after college graduation. If terms of the agreement cannot be met, the scholarship converts into an interest-bearing loan. Subject areas of critical teaching need are determined by the South Dakota Department of Education, based on data collected from local school districts. 

The teaching scholarship may be awarded to a student for up to two years, with the maximum annual award not to exceed the cost of tuition and general fees for 30 credit hours at a South Dakota public university. The program is open to all accredited postsecondary institutions in South Dakota that offer degrees in elementary or secondary education and that agree to participate.

The scholarship program, created by the 2013 South Dakota Legislature, is administered by the South Dakota Board of Regents. For more information, contact the regents’ office at 605-773-3455 or send an e-mail to info@sdbor.edu.

This is a list of the 25 students who are Critical Teaching Needs Scholarship recipients for the 2015-2016 academic year, sorted by the postsecondary institution where they are enrolled. The list also includes the student’s hometown.

Augustana College
Alexis Jurrens, Avon

Dakota State University
Eric Ruppelt, Tyndall

Mount Marty College
Alex Mueller, Yankton
Megan Meister, Kingsley, Iowa
Kami Meyerink, Platte
Denea Veldkamp, Sioux Falls
Neil Hohenthaner, Yankton

Northern State University
Christine Hickel, Sioux Falls
Whitney Heupel, Leola
Megan Brink, Renner

South Dakota State University
Taylor Leonhardt, Groton
Ashley Tollefson, Hitchcock
Trey Waltner, Marion
LaNae Fuerst, Tripp
Courtany Sykora, Beardsley, Minn.
Trevor Larson, Hamill
Abby Ottenbacher, Eureka
Eide Lucas, Clear Lake

University of South Dakota
Tucker Tornberg, Centerville
Erin Tounsley, Pierre
Brooke Vandersluis, Le Mars, Iowa
Kristin Pollema, Brandon
Abby Roskam, Canton
Katelyn Heisinger, Tripp
Adrianne Frankenhoff, Hayti