April 1 is the deadline for the elderly and disabled property tax assessment freeze program
PIERRE, S.D. – Elderly and disabled South Dakotans have until April 1 to apply for property tax relief under South Dakota’s Assessment Freeze for the Elderly and Disabled Program.
The program prevents property assessments from increasing for tax purposes. If the actual value of a home increases, the homeowner still pays property taxes on the former (lower) value.
To be eligible for the Assessment Freeze for the Elderly and Disabled Program, individuals must meet each of the following qualifications:
- A household with one member must have an income of $27,423.54 or less. A household with multiple members must have an income of $34,279.42 or less
- Have owned or retained a life estate in a single-family dwelling for at least one year and have been a resident of South Dakota for at least one year
- Have resided for at least 200 days of the previous calendar year in the single-family dwelling
- Be 65 years of age or older OR disabled (as defined by the Social Security Act)
Widows/widowers of those who were previously qualified could still qualify in some circumstances if he or she has not remarried. The valuation limit for the program is $188,240.34 or more of full and true value, meaning that property valued above those limits is not eligible unless the applicant has previously qualified.
The deadline to apply for the program is April 1, and applications must be submitted to the applicant’s county treasurer. Applications are available at any local county treasurer office or online at http://dor.sd.gov/Taxes/Property_Taxes/Forms.aspx (see PT-38 Assessment Freeze for Elderly and Disabled).