Agency RSS

Regents Approve Tuition & Fee Rates for 2017-18




News Release

Contacts: Mike Rush, Executive Director and CEO


Janelle Toman, Director of Communications



Telephone: (605) 773-3455

Fax: (605) 773-5320




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Thursday, March 30, 2017


Regents Approve Tuition & Fee Rates for 2017-18


SPEARFISH, S.D. – The South Dakota Board of Regents Thursday approved tuition and mandatory fees for the upcoming academic year. The impact to students in the public university system is an average cost increase of $237.81 per year, or 2.9 percent.


“While we had requested additional state funds to buy down tuition in the regents’ budget request last fall, state revenue was not available to make that happen for the coming year,” said Regents President Randy Schaefer. Schaefer said the Board of Regents was fortunate to be able to hold the line on resident state-supported tuition rates in 2014 and 2016, when additional state general funds were appropriated by the Legislature.


Regents’ officials said there was minimal impact from traditional cost drivers, such as salary policy and inflation, in this year’s tuition setting process. Health insurance increases for state employees, which include all Board of Regents’ employees, and inflation accounted for 0.5 percent of the tuition increase.


Student-driven requests for new or enhanced local programming on campus accounted for the remainder of the increase. Requests for General Activity Fee increases beyond inflation, recommended by student leadership, were submitted from Black Hills State University, Northern State University, South Dakota State University, and the University of South Dakota. The General Activity Fee supports various facilities, services, and student activities on campus.

“Student activities have a direct impact on the quality of the higher education experience and improve student retention,” said Mike Rush, the regents’ executive director and CEO. “These activities contribute to students completing their degrees, which is the most powerful way to reduce overall costs.”


On average, an in-state undergraduate student taking 30 credit hours next year will pay $8,555.32 for tuition and the mandatory activity fee. These new rates are effective for the 2017-18 academic year that begins this summer.