Agency RSS

38 Students Receive Dakota Corps Scholarships

            Office of Gov. Dennis Daugaard

500 E. Capitol Ave.

Pierre, S.D. 57501

(605) 773-3212






FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Tuesday, August 22, 2017

CONTACT:  Tony Venhuizen or Kelsey Pritchard at 605-773-3212


EDITORS/NEWS DIRECTORS:  For video and audio from the Governor on the scholarship, visit news.sd.gov/media.aspx and click on “Video” or “Audio” under “Governor Dennis Daugaard.”



38 Students Receive Dakota Corps Scholarships


PIERRE, S.D. – Thirty-eight South Dakota high school graduates have been awarded Dakota Corps scholarships to pursue careers in critical-need occupations within the state.


Each year, Dakota Corps recipients receive funding equivalent to the cost of tuition and applicable fees at their postsecondary institution. Once graduated, they are required to enter into a critical-need occupation in South Dakota, with terms of service equivalent to the number of years they received the scholarship, plus one year. The scholarships are supported entirely by private donations.


“Through the Dakota Corps scholarship program these students are educated in state and they commit to staying in South Dakota to work in a high-need field,” Gov. Dennis Daugaard said. “I thank the private businesses and non-profit organizations that make this investment in our students possible.”


Current occupations that qualify for Dakota Corps Scholarship support include teaching K-12 special education; teaching K-12 foreign languages; teaching high school math, science, or career and technical education; working as an accountant or auditor; working as an engineer (all fields except mining); working as a registered nurse; or working in the information technology field (computer science, information assurance and information security).


The South Dakota Board of Regents administers the Dakota Corps Scholarship program. For more information about this program, contact the board office at 1-800- 874-9033 or send an e-mail to DakotaCorps@sdbor.edu.


The following is a list of the 38 students who are new Dakota Corps Scholarship recipients for the 2017-2018 academic year:


Augustana University

Sara Bell, Sioux Falls

Nolan Ortbahn, Pierre

Mariah Prunty, Parkston


Dakota State University

Steven Bergmann, Brookings

Tomas Brist, Watertown

William DeCurtins, Brandon

Seth Huot, Centerville

Angela Hupf, Castlewood

John Prosper, Aberdeen

Michael Moore, Sioux Falls

Alexis VanderWilt, Mitchell


Northern State University

Elizabeth Klamm, Valley Springs

Caleb Schoenfelder, Iroquois


South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Ellie Burczek, Watertown

Joshua Christensen, Rapid City

Nathan Fjelstad, Groton

Isaac Johnson, Rapid City

Connor O’Brien, Watertown

Kole Pickner, Onida

Benjamin Pond, Ipswich

Joshua Powell, Garretson

Ben Sjoberg, Watertown

Carter Volk, Watertown

Chandler Wilson, Piedmont


South Dakota State University

Samuel Caba, Lesterville

Tyler Fairchild, Watertown

Garrison Gross, Mitchell

Drew Hanshaw, North Sioux City

Jameson Meyer, Brookings

Stephanie Nelson, Pierre

Maggie Peterson, Vermillion

Caitlynn Runia, Brandon

Evan Steers, Miller

Jesse Wright, Sioux Falls


University of Sioux Falls

Mariah Heckathorn, Elk Point


University of South Dakota

Derek Bierschbach, Madison

Madison Hardy, Bath

Keely Rexwinkel, Corsica


– 30 –