Agency RSS

Campus and Community Representatives to Assist in the University of South Dakota Presidential Search

              News Release

Contacts: Mike Rush, Executive Director and CEO


Janelle Toman, Director of Communications



Telephone: (605) 773-3455

Fax: (605) 773-5320



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Wednesday, November 15, 2017


Campus and Community Representatives to Assist
in the University of South Dakota Presidential Search


PIERRE, SD – Campus and community representatives have been appointed to assist the South Dakota Board of Regents in its search for the next president at the University of South Dakota. USD’s second longest serving president, James W. Abbott, will retire in June of 2018. 


“Campus and community leaders have an important voice in the search process.  They will help us identify the qualities and skills needed in the next president to lead the University of South Dakota,” said Regent Kevin Schieffer, who will chair the search. Other regents on the search committee are Pam Roberts and Joan Wink, with Regents President Bob Sutton serving in an ex-officio capacity.


The campus and community representatives and the constituencies they represent are:

  • Community--Nate Welch, executive director, Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce and Development Company
  • USD Foundation—Ryan Taylor, partner, Cutler Law Firm, LLP;  Judith Meierhenry, retired South Dakota Supreme Court Justice
  • Alumni—Torrey Sundall, senior director of corporate contracting, Sanford Health
  • Administration—Scott Pohlson, vice president for enrollment, marketing, and university relations
  • Civil Service Employees—Binnie Goodwin, program assistant II, Civil Service Advisory Council president, and Regental Civil Service Advisory Council vice president
  • Non-Faculty Exempt Employees—Cheryl Tiahrt, assistant vice president of technology
  • Faculty—Allen Madison,  associate professor of law; Beth Boyd, professor/director of clinical psychology program; Jewel Goodman Shepherd, assistant professor of health services administration, Beacom School of Business
  • Students—Josh Anderson, Student Government Association vice president, junior  political science and business administration major; Taylor Gubbrud, senior political science and economics major and Spanish minor
  • Institutional Collaboration— José-Marie Griffiths, president of Dakota State University
  • At-Large—Kevin Doyle, retired partner with Eide Bailly LLP, former Trustee for USD Foundation


The Board of Regents is working with Zachary Smith and Sophie Stava of the executive search firm, Witt/Kieffer, to identify and review candidates. The search process gets underway this month. Contingent on a successful search, Schieffer said the timeline calls for the new president of the University of South Dakota to be appointed this spring and begin duties on or around July 1, 2018.