Agency RSS

State Capitol Hosts Student Researchers February 26





News Release

Contacts: Mike Rush, Executive Director and CEO


Janelle Toman, Director of Communications



Telephone: (605) 773-3455

Fax: (605) 773-5320





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Thursday, February 22, 2018


State Capitol Hosts Student Researchers February 26


PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota colleges and universities will send 12 outstanding undergraduate student researchers to the State Capitol next week to share their research work with lawmakers and the public.


The 2018 Student Research Poster Session runs 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday, Feb. 26, in the State Capitol Rotunda. The public is invited to attend, and enjoy ice cream courtesy of South Dakota State University.


These 12 represent students statewide who conduct research in a variety of disciplines. Now in its 21st year, the event showcases research and creative activities of undergraduate students, as well as highlights successful faculty research and commercialization efforts. The session is organized by the South Dakota Board of Regents and South Dakota’s Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR). 


Students competitively chosen to participate in Monday’s event are:

  • Hannah Johnson, Spearfish, representing Black Hills State University
  • Vaille A. Swenson, Nederland, Colo., representing Dakota State University
  • Zach North, Huron, representing Northern State University
  • Laura Brunmaier, Piedmont, representing South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
  • Anna Barr, Newton, Iowa, Kaila Kuehn, Brandon, Camille Massmann, Cold Spring, Minn., and Natalie Sovell, Marshall, Minn., representing South Dakota State University
  • Alexandra Dolezal, Pierre, and Kami Pearson, Mitchell, representing University of South Dakota
  • Moses Meek, Mission, representing Sinte Gleska University and EPSCoR
  • Tyler Fortuna, Gillette, Wyo., representing Dakota Wesleyan University and South Dakota’s Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (SDBRIN).