Home
About
Agencies
Agency RSS
Agency
Listservs
Archives
Multimedia
Subscribe
Contact

Regents Approve Tuition & Fee Rates for 2018-19





             

 

 

 

News Release

Contacts: Mike Rush, Executive Director and CEO

mike.rush@sdbor.edu

Janelle Toman, Director of Communications

Janelle.toman@sdbor.edu

 

Telephone: (605) 773-3455

Fax: (605) 773-5320

www.sdbor.edu

 

 

 

 

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, March 28, 2018

 

Regents Approve Tuition & Fee Rates for 2018-19

 

SPEARFISH, S.D. – The South Dakota Board of Regents this week approved tuition and mandatory fees for the upcoming academic year. The impact to students in the public university system is an average cost increase of $256.13 per year, or 3.0 percent.

 

“This adjustment to tuition and mandatory fees attempts to keep cost to our students as low as possible,” said Regents President Bob Sutton. “Tuition and fee setting is a balancing act. On one hand, the regents must set the costs necessary to deliver all the instructional and support services required by our students. That must be balanced against managing those same costs to ensure affordable access to higher education. All of this is done with the uppermost goal in mind: to deliver to our students the highest quality education possible.”

 

There are a number of fixed costs that impact tuition and fee rates, including salary policy and inflation. This year, the legislature adopted a 1.2 percent salary policy for all employees. The state covers about half of this salary package for employees in the public university system, so tuition, fees, and student charges must be raised internally to cover the remainder of that obligation. Inflation also impacts the costs charged to students. A 1.8 percent inflationary increase based on the Consumer Price Index was applied to the operating expense base for the universities.

 

Additionally, both the University of South Dakota and South Dakota State University requested and were granted a $5 per credit hour tuition increase for all on-campus credits to aid in those universities’ recruitment and retention of quality faculty in support of the teaching and research missions.  Northern State University was also granted a request to increase its General Activity Fee by $3 per credit hour to support student activities and services.

 

On average, an in-state undergraduate student taking 30 credit hours next year will pay $8,870.33 for tuition and the mandatory General Activity Fee. These new rates are effective for the 2018-19 academic year that begins this summer.