Governor Noem Closes State Government Offices for Winter Storm

Article Body


April 3, 2023

Contact: Ian Fury


Governor Noem Closes State Government Offices for Winter Storm


PIERRE, S.D. – Today, Governor Kristi Noem ordered state government executive branch offices in certain counties be closed Tuesday, April 4, because of the winter storms in South Dakota. Heavy snow and high winds will take place across much of the state.


State offices will be closed all day Tuesday in the following counties: Beadle, Bennett, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Edmonds, Fall River, Faulk, Haakon, Hand, Harding, Hughes, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lawrence, Lyman, McPherson, Meade, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Walworth, and Ziebach.


State offices will close at 12pm CT in the following counties: Clark, Day, Grant, Marshall, and Roberts.


While executive branch offices in these counties will be closed, state employees will be working remotely.


Citizens should be prepared to stay home if possible. Some interstate closures have already been announced for this evening. If South Dakotans must travel, they should check the or the SD511 mobile app.