South Dakota teachers, school counselors go above and beyond with professional certifications

Article Body

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, Jan. 10, 2022

CONTACT: Mary Stadick Smith, 605-773-7228, or Ruth Raveling, 605-773-2593


South Dakota teachers, school counselors go above and beyond with professional certifications


PIERRE, S.D. – Twelve South Dakota teachers and school counselors earned or renewed national certifications in 2021, demonstrating advanced knowledge and skill in their professions.

Teachers achieve National Board Certification through a rigorous, performance-based, peer-reviewed assessment of a teacher's pedagogical (teaching) skills and content knowledge. The certification process takes one to three years to complete. While licensing standards set the basic requirements to teach in a state, National Board Certified teachers demonstrate advanced teaching knowledge, skills, and practices similar to the certifications earned by experts in law and medicine. South Dakota’s 2021 recipients of National Board Certification include:


  • Brittany Condon, Generalist/Middle Childhood, Rapid City Area Schools
  • Krista McCorkle, Generalist/Early Childhood, Aberdeen School District


Eight teachers renewed their National Board Certificate:


  • Jennifer Burnette, Mathematics/Early Adolescence, McLaughlin School District
  • Chelsey Coverdale, Mathematics/Early Adolescence, Harrisburg School District
  • Carla Diede, Mathematics/Early Adolescence, Harrisburg School District
  • Beth Keeney (principal), Exceptional Needs Specialist/Early Childhood through Young Adulthood, Rapid City Area Schools
  • Crystal McMachen, Mathematics/Early Adolescence, Rapid City Area Schools
  • Ann Noyes, Mathematics/Early Adolescence, Pierre School District
  • Joann Stephens, English Language Arts/Early Adolescence, Belle Fourche School District
  • Andi Ward, Literacy: Reading-Language Arts/Early and Middle Childhood, Watertown School District


The National Certified School Counselor certification recognizes counselors who demonstrate specialized knowledge and skills in school counseling. This certification shows that one has met national standards of practice, including additional education, experience, and a specialty exam. The following school counselors reported to the South Dakota Department of Education that they became National Certified School Counselors in 2021:


  • Sherri Horan, Rapid City Area Schools
  • Allison Weideman, Harrisburg School District

South Dakota teachers who earn National Board Certification receive $2,000 per year for five years, with $1,000 paid by the South Dakota Department of Education and $1,000 paid by the teacher’s school district. The department will also reimburse fees personally paid by teachers and school counselors, upon their achievement of national certification. As long as funds are available, the department will also pay National Certified School Counselors $1,000 annually for five years.


To learn more about these certifications and stipend and reimbursement opportunities, visit or call the South Dakota Department of Education at 605-773-3134.