State Government Offices Remain Closed for Winter Storm

Article Body


April 4, 2023

Contact: Ian Fury


State Government Offices Remain Closed for Winter Storm

Offices Reopen in Certain Counties


PIERRE, S.D. – Today, Governor Kristi Noem ordered state government executive branch offices in certain counties remain closed on Wednesday, April 5, because of the winter storm with blizzard conditions in South Dakota. State offices will reopen in other counties.


State offices will be closed all day Wednesday in the following counties: Beadle, Bennett, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Campbell, Corson, Day, Dewey, Edmonds, Faulk, Grant, Haakon, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lyman, Marshall, McPherson, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Potter, Roberts, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Walworth, and Ziebach.


While executive branch offices in these counties will be closed, state employees will be working remotely.


State offices will reopen Wednesday in the following counties: Butte, Clark, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, and Tripp.


Winds in excess of 40 miles per hour will cause whiteout conditions across much of the state, and additional snowfall is anticipated. Citizens should be prepared to stay home if possible. Interstate closures have been announced in various parts of the state. If South Dakotans must travel, they should check the or the SD511 mobile app.