Article Body


CONTACT:  Rebecca Cruse, Deputy Director, SDAC




Applications for Artists in residence due April 15


PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Arts Council (SDAC) is now accepting sponsor applications for its Artists in Schools and Communities (AISC) program, which provides matching grants to schools, arts councils, and other nonprofit organizations to host artists-in-residence between July 1, 2022-June 30, 2023.


Applications must be received through the AISC online grant form. Organizations will find several new artists and arts groups who have joined the teaching artist roster. Applicant organizations should also note a small increase to the artist fees and grant amounts in the coming fiscal year.


Through the AISC program, students – adults and children alike – will learn about fine arts in a relevant, hands-on environment.


Grantees choose their artist from a roster of professional teaching artists endorsed by the Arts Council. Disciplines include writing, music, theater, visual arts and traditional arts. A theater residency could include classroom workshops or a full-length production featuring local students at the end of the week. In the visual arts, choose from pottery, painting, drawing, sculpting, murals, comic book making and more. There are traditional arts residency opportunities in hoop dancing, ribbon skirt making, flute making and oral traditions. To view the extensive list of roster artists and read about the residencies offered, visit


The deadline for grant applications to be submitted online is April 15. The simple, online form is available at Please review program guidelines before applying and reach out to with questions.  


An office of the South Dakota Department of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council provides grants and services to artists, arts and nonprofit organizations, and schools across the state with funding from the National Endowment for the Arts and the state of South Dakota. For more information about SDAC grant programs and artist rosters, visit


The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.


- 30 -