Gov. Noem and Colleagues Push for an All-of-the-Above Energy Approach

Article Body


June 4, 2024

Contact: Amelia Joy


Gov. Noem and Colleagues Push for an All-of-the-Above Energy Approach


PIERRE, S.D. – Governor Kristi Noem and 19 of her fellow Republican governors sent a letter to President Biden pushing for more innovation in American energy. The full letter can be found here.


“As governors, we are extremely concerned with the impacts your energy policies are having on households across our country and call on you to pursue an all-of-the-above energy approach that will promote homegrown energy that benefits all Americans.,” wrote Governor Noem and the other governors. “Under your administration, Americans have paid over 40% more for gas every time they fill up. These policies are disproportionally impacting low-income Americans.”


The Biden Administration has weakened American energy security. Joe Biden cancelled the Keystone XL pipeline, reduced the amount of federal acres leased for drilling, and prioritizes foreign energy over American-made energy. America needs an all-of-the-above approach to energy that doesn’t pick winners and losers but lowers prices for all Americans.


“To address these concerns, we call on you to pause the rhetorical and regulatory hostility towards traditional energy and to include states as active participants in further rulemaking,” continued Governor Noem and the other governors. “We look forward to your prompt reply so we can continue to find ways to work together to best protect taxpayers, while at the same time ensuring an abundant supply of reliable, affordable energy for Americans and our allies.”


Governor Noem was joined by Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy, Arkansas Governor Sarah Sanders, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp, Idaho Governor Brad Little, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, Louisiana Governor Jeff Landry, Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves, Missouri Governor Mike Parson, Montana Governor Greg Gianforte, Nevada Governor Joe Lombardo, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt, Texas Governor Greg Abbott, Utah Governor Spencer Cox, Virginia Governor Glenn Youngkin, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice, and Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon.