State Offices to Remain Closed in Certain Counties, Reopen at Noon

Article Body


February 22, 2023

Contact: Ian Fury


State Offices to Remain Closed in Certain Counties, Reopen at Noon


PIERRE, S.D. – Today, Gov. Kristi Noem ordered state government executive branch offices in certain counties to remain closed until noon on Thursday, Feb. 23, because of the winter storms in South Dakota.


State offices will remain closed until noon in the following counties: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Buffalo, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Potter, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner, and Walworth.


While executive branch offices in these counties will be closed, state employees will be working remotely.


Much of the eastern part of the state remains in a blizzard warning until 12pm Thursday. The western part and the southeasternmost portion of the state will be in a winter storm warning.


Citizens should be prepared to stay home if possible. Many state highways already have no travel advised, and numerous roads are physically blocked. Portions of I-29 and I-90 are closed. If South Dakotans must travel, they should check the or the SD511 mobile app.