Gov. Noem and Colleagues Oppose Biden and EPA's Air Quality Standards

Article Body


April 11, 2024

Contact: Amelia Joy


Gov. Noem and Colleagues Oppose Biden and EPA’s Air Quality Standards


PIERRE, S.D. – Today, Governor Kristi Noem and 21 of her fellow Republican governors urged the Environmental Protection Agency under the Biden Administration to pause implementation of the PM2.5 rule under the National Ambient Air Quality Standards.


“I joined my colleagues in this letter because this shortsighted ridiculous rule will crush South Dakota farmers, manufacturers and their employees, and it particularly hurts small towns in our state,” said Governor Noem.


The letter, written by Governor Noem and her colleagues, outlines the failures of the EPA’s one-size-fits-all approach, especially given the geographic diversity of the 50 states, including unique weather patterns. The governors also point out the largest source of PM2.5, carbon monoxide, and volatile organic compounds was wildfires that occurred on federally managed land.


The governors described how this new rule would disproportionately impact rural communities and states, especially states that rely on manufacturing for the health of their economy.


Governor Noem and her colleagues wrote, “Setting aside the legal concerns we have about the final rule, the new standard poses significant challenges for our states and ignores the progress made in reducing particulate matter over the last 20 years.” They continued, “We strongly encourage you to pause implementation of this rule so our concerns can be addressed. Your consideration of this matter and its overall impact to all of our states is necessary to find a balanced approach that protects both our environment and the economy.”


Governor Noem was joined by Idaho Governor Brad Little, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey, Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy, Arkansas Governor Sarah Sanders, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds, Louisiana Governor Jeff Landry, Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves, Missouri Governor Mike Parson, Montana Governor Greg Gianforte, Nevada Governor Joe Lombardo, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt, South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee, Texas Governor Greg Abbott, Utah Governor Spencer Cox, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice, and Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon.