Gov. Noem and Colleagues Recognize Jewish American Heritage Month

Article Body


April 27, 2023

Contact: Ian Fury


Gov. Noem and Colleagues Recognize Jewish American Heritage Month


PIERRE, S.D. – Today, Governor Kristi Noem and 25 of her fellow Republican governors released a statement recognizing May as Jewish American Heritage Month. You can read the statement here.


“As public servants and governors, we support and recognize May as Jewish American Heritage Month – and call for observance to celebrate the historical, economic, and cultural impact of the Jewish-American people who have strengthened our communities and emboldened our nation throughout history,” said Governor Noem and her colleagues.


Both the United States and South Dakota hold Israel as a trusted ally. Governor Noem recently recognized and celebrated the 75th anniversary of the State of Israel. The proclamation can be found here.


“We’re proud of the United States being the first country to recognize the State of Israel,” continued Governor Noem and her colleagues. “Since then, we’ve fostered an unbreakable bond between our two nations based upon shared values, ultimately leading to prosperous economic, educational, and cultural partnerships.”


The statement recognizing Jewish American Heritage Month was signed unanimously by all 26 Republican governors.


Governor Noem was joined by the following Republican governors in issuing the statement: Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds and Tennessee Governor Bill Lee, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey, Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy, Arkansas Governor Sarah Sanders, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp, Idaho Governor Brad Little, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves, Missouri Governor Mike Parson, Montana Governor Greg Gianforte, Nebraska Governor Jim Pillen, Nevada Governor Joe Lombardo, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum, Ohio Governor Mike DeWine, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt, South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster, Texas Governor Greg Abbott, Utah Governor Spencer Cox, Vermont Governor Phil Scott, Virginia Governor Glenn Youngkin, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice, and Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon.