Gov. Noem and Colleagues Support House Energy Bill

Article Body


March 31, 2023

Contact: Ian Fury


Gov. Noem and Colleagues Support House Energy Bill


PIERRE, S.D. – Today, Governor Kristi Noem and 22 of her fellow Republican governors issued a statement of support for the U.S. House of Representatives’ Energy Bill as introduced.


“Americans continue to face record high energy costs, and as governors, we have seen firsthand that action is needed to provide more affordable, reliable, and resilient energy,” wrote Governor Noem and her colleagues. “We applaud the United States House of Representatives for offering real solutions to lower energy costs for all Americans by removing roadblocks and red tape that stand in the way of greater energy production.”


The Governors point out that this House bill would reverse President Biden’s anti-energy agenda, which would restore American energy dominance by unshackling American energy production. They point to the following specific policies that would achieve this:


  • Requiring lease sales for oil and gas;
  • Removing unnecessary restrictions on the import and export of natural gas; and,
  • Streamlining permitting processes for energy and infrastructure.


“It’s past time to stop the attacks on American energy while American families bear the brunt of higher energy costs,” concluded Governor Noem and her colleagues.


Governor Noem was joined by the following governors in issuing the statement: South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey, Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy, Arkansas Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp, Idaho Governor Brad Little, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds, Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves, Missouri Governor Mike Parson, Montana Governor Greg Gianforte, Nebraska Governor Jim Pillen, Nevada Governor Joe Lombardo, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee, Texas Governor Greg Abbott, Utah Governor Spencer Cox, Virginia Governor Glenn Youngkin, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice, and Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon.