Eight students receive Hagen-Harvey Scholarships

Article Body

PIERRE, S.D. – Eight South Dakota students have received Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Memorial Scholarships. The scholarship program provides up to $6,000 over four years to enrolled members of American Indian tribes for study at an accredited university, college, or technical college located in South Dakota.

The scholarship program is funded by the estate of Minerva Harvey, in memory of Richard Hagen, who was a state legislator from Pine Ridge.

Congratulations to the following scholarship recipients for the 2024-25 school year:


  • Linkin Ballard, Caputa;
  • Kira Dermatis, Edgemont;
  • Alejandra Juarez, Fort Pierre;
  • Makana Little Sky, Porcupine;
  • Nevaeh Morgan , Armour;
  • Alexander Poitra, Sioux Falls;
  • Hannah Tronvold, Lake Andes; and
  • Caleb Zephier, Pickstown.


Scholarship amounts are based on a student's current year in school. Students in years one and two receive $1,000 per year; year three, $1,500; and year four, $2,500.


Find more information about this program on the South Dakota Department of Education’s Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Scholarship webpage.