Agency RSS

Celebrate Native American Day in South Dakota

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Monday, October 7, 2013


CONTACT: JR LaPlante (605) 773-3415



Celebrate Native American Day in South Dakota


PIERRE, S.D. – In 1989 the South Dakota Legislature adopted legislation proposed by Governor George S. Mickelson to change Columbus Day to Native American Day. On this day, we remember great Native American leaders who contributed much to the history of the State of South Dakota.


 South Dakota shares its borders with nine federally recognized tribes; including the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Crow Creek Sioux Tribe, Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe, Lower Brule Sioux Tribe, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate, and Yankton Sioux Tribe. Each tribe and its subdivisions has an unique history that contributes to the diversity of our state.


 Approximately 9 percent of South Dakota’s population is Native American according to 2010 census data, and more than 100,000 South Dakotans are also enrolled tribal members.


 The Department of Tribal Relations encourages all South Dakotans to celebrate Native American Day in South Dakota by learning about the traditions and culture of the Lakota, Dakota and Nakota people.