Agency RSS

Governor Awards Grants To Career And Technical Education Programs

            Office of Gov. Dennis Daugaard

500 E. Capitol Ave.

Pierre, S.D. 57501







FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2014

CONTACT:  Tony Venhuizen or Kelsey Pritchard at 605-773-3212



Governor Awards Grants To Career And Technical Education Programs


PIERRE, S.D. – Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced today the recipients of the Governor’s Grants for Career & Technical Education. Twelve school districts will receive a combined total of over $8.5 million through these grants.


“CTE programs are crucial in preparing South Dakota students for all the opportunities awaiting them after graduation,” said Gov. Daugaard. “Programs are strongest when all the key players work together: secondary education, postsecondary education, and business and industry.”


The grants will assist school districts in developing CTE programs and strengthening programs that already exist. The funds will help middle schools and high schools to partner with each other, other school districts, postsecondary institutions and those in the industry.


The grants were made available through the South Dakota Future Fund, which was created by Gov. George S. Mickelson to invest in South Dakota’s workforce and build its economy. They are available on a one-time basis, so grant projects must be self-sustaining beyond this initial investment.


The following school districts have been awarded grants:


  • Aberdeen School District – $2 million for the construction of a new regional CTE facility
  • Burke School District – $604,010 to go toward mobile units, in cooperation with Andes Central School District, Colome School District, and South Central School District
  • Madison Central School District – $376,808 for health science, transportation and manufacturing programs to serve area schools
  • Meade School District – $89,967 to go toward welding and machining programs
  • Mitchell School District – $1,240,228 for the renovation and expansion of the regional CTE center
  • Northeast Technical High School – $150,000 to go toward middle school courses and dual credit ag courses
  • Northwest Area Schools Multi District – $830,800 to go toward mobile units
  • Rapid City Area School District – $2 million to enhance dual and concurrent enrollment options for regional high schools
  • Sioux Falls School District – $768,454 to add two new classrooms at the CTE Academy
  • Todd County School District – $103,560 to expand middle school and high school course offerings, in cooperation with White River School District
  • Vermillion School District – $99,380 for a public-private partnership in construction trades
  • Yankton – $280,325 for regional CTE offerings


In all, 26 applications were received, requesting a total of $20 million.


“While we couldn’t accommodate every proposal, this is a good start,” said Gov. Daugaard. “I’m glad to be able to support some of the programs that are helping more young people learn, work and live in South Dakota.”