Agency RSS

State Capitol Hosts Student Researchers March 2





News Release

Contacts: Mike Rush, Executive Director and CEO


Janelle Toman, Director of Communications



Telephone: (605) 773-3455

Fax: (605) 773-5320


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Monday, February 27, 2017


State Capitol Hosts Student Researchers March 2


PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota colleges and universities will send 12 outstanding undergraduate student researchers to the State Capitol this week to share their research work with lawmakers and the public.


The 2017 Student Research Poster Session runs 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Thursday, March 2, in the State Capitol Rotunda. The public is invited to attend, and enjoy ice cream courtesy of South Dakota State University.


These 12 represent students statewide who conduct research in a variety of disciplines. Now in its 20th year, the event showcases research and creative activities of undergraduate students, as well as highlights successful faculty research and commercialization efforts. The session is organized by the South Dakota Board of Regents and South Dakota’s Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR). 


Students competitively chosen to participate in Thursday’s event are:

  • Naveen Malik of Spearfish, representing Black Hills State University
  • Hope Juntunen of Hayti, representing Dakota State University
  • Maris Grewe of Aberdeen, representing Northern State University
  • Joshua Knock of Rapid City, representing South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
  • Nicholas Stegmeier, Sioux Falls, and Lauren Shell, Spirit Lake, Iowa, representing South Dakota State University
  • Sydney Strait, Watertown, and Alex Hanson, Sioux Falls, representing University of South Dakota
  • Patrisse Vasek of Lake Andes, representing Oglala Lakota College and EPSCoR
  • Luke Bartl, Mitchell, and Brooklyn DeVries, Sioux Falls, representing Augustana University and South Dakota’s Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (SDBRIN)
  • Hadly “Carson” Eisenbeisz of Pierre, representing South Dakota State University and Biosystems Networks & Translational Research (BioSNTR)