Agency RSS

Newly accredited public libraries to be honored in Capitol rotunda

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, Feb. 8, 2018

CONTACT: Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, 605-773-7228, mary.stadicksmith@state.sd.us or
Ruth Raveling, South Dakota Department of Education, 605-773-2593, ruth.raveling@state.sd.us


Newly accredited public libraries to be honored in Capitol rotunda

PIERRE, S.D. – Twelve South Dakota public libraries have been accredited by the State Library in 2018. They will be honored in front of lawmakers, library colleagues and community members at the Capitol rotunda Feb. 13, at 3:15 pm CST. This event is held in conjunction with the annual South Dakota Library Association Library Legislative Day.


Accredited libraries demonstrate that they meet important benchmarks for providing high quality library services to their communities. Public libraries are accredited at one of three levels: Essential, Enhanced or Exemplary. Libraries are evaluated in the following areas, as outlined in South Dakota Public Library Standards: governance, administration, access, collections and resources, funding, staffing, technology and public relations.


The following libraries have been accredited:


  • Canton Public Library – Enhanced
  • Cozard Memorial Library (Chamberlain) – Essential
  • Custer County Library (Custer) – Exemplary
  • Dell Rapids Carnegie Public Library – Enhanced
  • Gregory Public Library – Exemplary
  • Hot Springs Public Library – Enhanced
  • Phoebe Apperson Hearst Free Library (Lead) – Essential
  • Piedmont Valley Library – Essential
  • Rawlins Municipal Library (Pierre) – Exemplary
  • Tripp County Grossenberg Memorial Library (Winner) – Essential
  • Wall Community Library – Essential
  • Yankton Community Library – Exemplary


Detailed requirements for each level of tiered accreditation, as well as a complete list of all currently accredited libraries, are available on the South Dakota State Library’s website at library.sd.gov