Agency RSS

Gov. Daugaard Appoints Kent Shelton As Third Circuit Judge



          Office of Gov. Dennis Daugaard

500 E. Capitol Ave.

Pierre, S.D. 57501






FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Thursday, May 17, 2018

CONTACT:  Tony Venhuizen or Kelsey Pritchard at 605-773-3212



Gov. Daugaard Appoints Kent Shelton As Third Circuit Judge


PIERRE, S.D. – Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced today that he will appoint Kent A. Shelton of Huron as a circuit court judge in South Dakota’s Third Circuit Court.


“I thank Kent Shelton for taking on this important role as circuit judge,” said Gov. Daugaard. “Kent is a respected member of the bar and a well-known member of the Huron community. He will do an excellent job.”


Shelton has been in the private practice of law in Huron since 1990, and is a partner in the Churchill, Manolis, Freeman, Kludt, Shelton and Burns law firm. Shelton has a general practice that includes criminal defense, family law, real estate and property, estate planning and corporate law.


“I am honored to have been selected to serve my community and state as their circuit court judge,” said Shelton. “I have always respected the judges and their decisions and will maintain the honor that goes with the position.”


Shelton is a lifelong native of Huron. He graduated from the University of Montana with a bachelor’s degree in 1986 and a law degree in 1989. Shelton has served as chairman of the Huron College Endowment Fund and on the boards of directors of the Huron Chamber of Commerce, the Beadle County Humane Society and the Cornerstones Career Learning Center.


Shelton and his wife, Laurie, have three daughters and three grandchildren. He will succeed Judge Jon Erickson, who is retiring in June. The Third Circuit includes Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Kingsbury, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Jerauld, Lake, Miner, Moody and Sanborn counties.