Agency RSS

Motor vehicle division adds new self-service terminal location

For Immediate Release: Monday, April 29, 2019
Contact: Wade LaRoche, Public Affairs Manager, 605-773-5869


PIERRE, S.D., -- Motor vehicle owners in the Pierre area now have another option to renew their registrations.


The Department of Revenue’s motor vehicle division now offers a self-service terminal at Lynn’s Dakotamart, located at 120 W. Sioux Ave., in Pierre. The new location joins the lineup of nine other self-service terminals throughout the state.


The 10 self-service terminals, which are located in Aberdeen, Mitchell, Pierre, Rapid City, Sioux Falls, Watertown and Yankton, allow vehicle owners to quickly renew their vehicle registrations and have their registration card and stickers printed on site. Vehicle owners may renew at a self-service terminal within 90 days of their registration deadline and up to nine months after.


“The motor vehicle division strives to provide the best customer service possible, which includes convenient options for registration renewal,” said Motor Vehicle Division Director Rosa Yaeger. “Our newest self-service terminal provides South Dakotans with another ideal location to renew their registrations in minutes.”


To use a self-service terminal, customers simply need a South Dakota driver’s license or identification card, along with a valid credit card or check for payment. Visa, Mastercard and Discover are all accepted.


In addition to self-service terminals, South Dakotans may renew their vehicle registrations by visiting their local county treasurer’s office or online at http://mysdcars.sd.gov. For more information on these methods of renewal, click here.