Agency RSS

2019 S.D. Transportation Hall of Honor Inductee Announced

For Immediate Release: Friday, June 21, 2019

Contact: Kari Kroll, Executive Assistant, 605-773-5105


PIERRE, S.D. – Ron Baumgart of River Cities Public Transit (RCPT) in Pierre has been chosen for induction into the South Dakota Transportation Hall of Honor for 2019.


The purpose of the Transportation Hall of Honor is to recognize those individuals who have made a lasting, valuable or unique contribution to South Dakota’s air, highway, public transit or rail transportation system.


The South Dakota Transportation Hall of Honor dates to 1972 and now includes 91 inductees.


Baumgart began his career with RCPT in 2001. Since that time, he has grown the agency from four vehicles and 22,577 rides to 103 vehicles and 367,972 rides. He has been recognized regionally and nationally for his work, including being named the 2013 America’s Transit of the Year by the Community Transportation Association. Baumgart is an innovator and led RCPT to be the first rural transit provider in the state to implement a computerized scheduling and dispatch system. He is always willing to help other transit agencies become more efficient, reliable and independent, supporting the success and growth of public transportation in South Dakota.


An induction banquet to honor Ron Baumgart will be announced at a later date.


For more information, contact Kari Kroll with the Department of Transportation at 605-773-5105.


- 30 -