Agency RSS

Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers Coming to Turner, Hutchinson Counties

Wednesday, July 10, 2019



SDDPS: Tony Mangan (605) 773-6196

FEMA: News Desk (701) 681-1454

News Release


Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers Coming to Turner, Hutchinson Counties


PIERRE, SD – The State of South Dakota and the Federal Emergency Management Agency are sending mobile Disaster Recovery Centers to Turner and Hutchinson counties to offer in-person support to individuals and businesses that suffered losses from the severe winter storms and flooding from mid-March to late April 2019.


Representatives from the state, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations will staff the mobile centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.


Turner County

July 15-18 (Monday-Thursday)

Viborg City Hall

110 N. Main St., Viborg, S.D.


Hutchinson County

July 22-25 (Monday-Thursday)

County Court House

140 Euclid St., Olivet, S.D.


Both Centers are open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time.


Individuals can visit any of the centers for assistance. Use the FEMA mobile app, or visit www.fema.gov/DRC for additional fixed-site center locations. 


The first step to receiving disaster assistance is to register with FEMA. You can do so:

  • In person at the Disaster Recovery Center.
  • Go online to DisasterAssistance.gov or DisasterAssistance.gov/es (for Spanish).
  • Use the FEMA mobile app in English or Spanish.
  • Call the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.


All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication.


The South Dakota counties now designated for Individual Assistance are: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Hutchinson, Minnehaha, Turner and Yankton; the Pine Ridge Reservation to include the counties of Oglala Lakota, Jackson, and Bennett; the Rosebud Reservation to include the counties of Mellette and Todd; and the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation to include the counties of Dewey and Ziebach.


# # #


FEMA's mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.


The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email DisasterCustomerService@sba.gov or visit SBA at www.SBA.gov/disaster.