Agency RSS

Doug Clark Named Deputy Secretary of Corrections

October 28, 2019

Doug Clark Named Deputy Secretary of Corrections

PIERRE, S.D.- Doug Clark has been named as Deputy Secretary of the South Dakota Department of Corrections (DOC), replacing Laurie Feiler, who has announced her retirement effective in December.

Clark, a 25-year DOC veteran, currently serves as the executive director of the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

“I want to express my thanks to Laurie Feiler for the unparalleled work on policies, population projections and legislation she has done for the department over the past 35 years and to Doug for taking on the many responsibilities that come with this position,” said Corrections Secretary Mike Leidholt. “Doug will benefit greatly in his new role from having Laurie serve as his supervisor and mentor in recent years as well as his extensive history with the department.”

Clark began his career in 1994 as a correctional officer at the South Dakota State Penitentiary in Sioux Falls, holding numerous positions within security and in unit management. In 2002, he moved to the Parole Division, overseeing the development and implementation of the community risk assessment/re-assessment instrument as well as the policy-driven response to violation matrix. In 2008, Clark was named the director of field operations of Parole Services. He assisted with several initiatives in Parole Services, including, arming parole agents, expanding the use of evidence-based practices in the parole division and oversaw the development and implementation of system-wide strategies and process changes that came from the Public Safety Improvement Act. In May 2015, Clark was appointed executive director of the South Dakota Board of Pardons and Paroles, overseeing all Parole Board office and Parole Services operations. He represented South Dakota on the Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision (ICAOS), including serving as chair of the ICAOS Rules Committee and on the ICAOS Executive Committee.

Clark earned a B.A. in management from the University of Sioux Falls and a graduate certificate in public administration from the University of South Dakota as part of the Governor’s Leadership Development Program.