Agency RSS

Noem Proclaims Women’s Vote Centennial Celebration Day, Assembles Women’s Vote Centennial Delegation

For Immediate Release

December 4, 2019

Contact: Kristin Wileman


Noem Proclaims Women’s Vote Centennial Celebration Day, Assembles Women’s Vote Centennial Delegation


PIERRE, S.D. – Governor Kristi Noem proclaimed today as “Women’s Vote Centennial Celebration Day” in South Dakota. On December 4, 1919, South Dakota was one of the first states to ratify the Nineteenth Amendment, approving it during a special legislative session.


“One-hundred years ago today, democracy expanded, and South Dakota moved to give women the right to vote,” said Noem. “These men and women were trailblazers, and I am proud of their courage to spark change for the greater good.”


To help commemorate and coordinate the statewide celebration of the Nineteenth Amendment’s 100-year anniversary, Noem has assembled the Women’s Vote Centennial Delegation. The group has been tasked with providing educational materials about the suffrage movement and stimulating opportunities that explore the journey to women’s right to vote.


“It’s important for our young people to understand the path suffragists had to walk in order to secure this right for women in our country,” Noem continued. “When we understand our history, we become more grateful for the rights we have and the liberties we enjoy.”


Throughout 2020, the delegation – along with the South Dakota State Historical Society and the Historical Society Foundation – will initiate projects commemorating the centennial of women’s suffrage.


Members of the delegation are:

  • Pat Miller, Pierre - Chair
  • Tracy Saathoff, Sioux Falls - Co-Chair
  • Julie Bartling, Gregory
  • Sue Gates, Aberdeen
  • Peggy Gibson, Huron
  • José Marie Griffiths, Madison
  • Katie Hunhoff, Yankton
  • Susan Irons, Canton
  • Mary Jean Jensen, Lemmon
  • Kay Jorgensen, Spearfish
  • Kitty Kinsman, Rapid City
  • Elsie Meeks, Pine Ridge
  • Kristina Schaefer, Sioux Falls
  • Hon. Karen Schreier, Sioux Falls
  • Rep. Tamara St. John, Sisseton
  • Ann McKay Thompson, Rapid City
  • Suzanne Veenis, Sioux Falls