Agency RSS

Disaster Recovery Centers Coming to Six South Dakota Counties

Dec. 6, 2019



SDDPS: Tony Mangan (605) 773-6196

FEMA: News Desk (605) 323-6755

SBA: PIO Contact (916) 200-6720

News Release


Disaster Recovery Centers Coming to Six South Dakota Counties


SIOUX FALLS – The State of South Dakota and FEMA are opening Disaster Recovery Centers in six counties across the state. The centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses that suffered losses from the severe winter storms and flooding from Sept. 9 – 26, 2019. Each center will be open for five days.


Visitors to the centers can learn about a variety of federal and state disaster recovery resources, in addition to aid available from voluntary organizations.  Center staff can explain available assistance programs and help connect people with resources that best match their specific needs. 


All locations except Hutchinson County will be open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.


Locations are:


Brookings (Brookings County)

Tuesday, December 10 – Saturday, December 14

Brookings Research and Technology Center

809 32nd Ave, Brookings, SD


Flandreau (Moody County)

Tuesday, December 17 – Saturday, December 21

Our Savior’s Lutheran Church

505 S. Wind St., Flandreau, SD


Olivet (Hutchinson County)

Tuesday, December 10 – Saturday, December 14

** (Hours: 8 a.m. –  4:30 p.m. Tues. – Fri.; Sat. 9a.m.  –  6p.m.)

Hutchinson County Courthouse Room 166

201 Mentor St., Olivet, SD



Lake Andes (Charles Mix County)

Tuesday, December 17 – Saturday, December 21

County 4-H Building

100 School St., Lake Andes, SD


Salem (McCook County)

Tuesday, December 10 – Saturday, December 14

Salem Armory

720 N. Peck St., Salem SD


Alexandria (Hanson County)

Tuesday, December 17 – Saturday, December 21

Hanson County Courthouse

720 5th St., Alexandria, SD


Individuals can visit any of the centers for assistance. Use the FEMA mobile app, or visit www.fema.gov/DRC for current open locations. 


If possible, homeowners, renters and businesses should register for disaster assistance before visiting a recovery center. There are several ways to register:

  • By calling the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-3362 or TTY: 800-462-7585. Lines are open daily from 7 a.m.-11 p.m. Help is available in most languages.
  • At one of FEMA’s disaster recovery center locations.


All recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology to aid in communication. ASL interpretation is available upon request; contact the Recovery Center Manager upon arrival.


The South Dakota areas eligible to register with FEMA are Brookings, Charles Mix, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Moody and Yankton counties and the Flandreau and Yankton Indian Reservations.


# # #


FEMA's mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.


The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email DisasterCustomerService@sba.gov or visit SBA at www.SBA.gov/disaster.