Agency RSS

SDDOT Encouraging Public Participation in Statewide Transportation Planning

For Immediate Release: 
Thursday, July 1, 2021

Levi Briggs, STIP Coordinator, 605-773-3590



PIERRE, S.D. The South Dakota Department of Transportation will offer in-person public presentations this year for the Tentative 2022-2025 Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP).  Four presentations will be offered at locations across the state during the month of July. In 2020, the STIP meetings were held completely virtual due to COVID precautions. This year, in addition to the in-person meetings, SDDOT will also offer a virtual option for interested participants.


“We are excited to invite the public to engage with our staff in person, or virtually, this year,” says Joel Jundt, Transportation Secretary. “Our STIP meetings offer community members across the state the chance to actively participate in planning the future of our transportation system in South Dakota.” 

The STIP is a four-year program listing projects developed through the coordinated efforts of the Department of Transportation, Transportation Commission, state and federal agencies, local and tribal governments, metropolitan planning organizations, public agencies, transportation providers, citizens, and other interested parties. The program identifies highway and intermodal improvements to preserve, renovate, and enhance South Dakota's transportation system.

Following are the locations, dates, and times for each of the Tentative 2022-2025 STIP meetings.

Pierre Region Meeting:  Thursday, July 8, 2021 - in Pierre at the Ramkota Hotel, 920 W Sioux Ave., 7 p.m. CDT


*Pierre Region generally includes Bennett, Corson, Campbell, Dewey, Haakon, Hughes, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Walworth, and Ziebach Counties.

Aberdeen Region Meeting:  Tuesday, July 13, 2021 - in Aberdeen at the AmericInn, 301 Centennial St. S., 7 p.m. CDT


*Aberdeen Region generally includes Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hyde, Hand, Kingsbury, Marshall, McPherson, Roberts, and Spink Counties.  

Mitchell Region Meeting:  Wednesday, July 14, 2021 - in Sioux Falls at the Ramada Airport, 1301 W. Russell St., 7 p.m. CDT


*Mitchell Region generally includes Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, and Yankton Counties.

Rapid City Region Meeting:  Thursday, July 15, 2021 - in Rapid City at the Ramkota Hotel, 2111 N. Lacrosse St., 7 p.m. MDT


*Rapid City Region generally includes Butte, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Oglala Lakota, Perkins, and Pennington Counties.  

Find virtual meeting links and call-in information for each of the four STIP meetings on the SDDDOT website at: https://dot.sd.gov/projects-studies/planning/tentative-statewide-transportation-improvement-program-stip.


Each meeting is planned to be recorded and posted when available.


For complete information about the tentative STIP, including maps and reports by region, please view the SDDOT website at: https://dot.sd.gov/projects-studies/planning/tentative-statewide-transportation-improvement-program-stip.


The SDDOT begins the yearly update of the STIP in mid-April, however, public input is welcome year-round. If you have any suggestions you would like to offer concerning improvements to the state's transportation system, please direct them to Levi Briggs, STIP Coordinator at 605-773-3590.


About SDDOT:
The mission of the South Dakota Department of Transportation is to efficiently provide a safe and effective public transportation system.


Read more about the innovative work of the SDDOT at https://dot.sd.gov.