Agency RSS

Highway Patrol Honors Trooper Biegert, Inspector Nerby

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, July 7, 2021

Contact: Tony Mangan, Public Information Officer, 605-773-6196


Highway Patrol Honors Trooper Biegert, Inspector Nerby


PIERRE, S.D. – A trooper and a motor carrier manager, both praised for their leadership and devotion to duty, were honored today (Wednesday) by the South Dakota Highway Patrol.


Trooper Jeremy Biegert, who is stationed in Belle Fourche, has been named as Trooper of the Year. Motor Carrier Manager Rhianna Nerby, who is stationed in Sioux Falls, has been named as Motor Carrier Inspector of the Year.


“These two worthy honorees every day demonstrate their willingness to serve the people of South Dakota,” said Col. Rick Miller, superintendent of the Highway Patrol. “As leaders, they are willing to do what needs to be done because they realize they are doing what is best for the citizens. That spirit of service extends beyond their professional lives, as they are both active in their communities.”


Trooper Biegert started with the Highway Patrol in 2017. Besides his daily duties as trooper with the Northern Plains Squad, Trooper Biegert has been active as a drug recognition expert, firearms instructor and field training officer.


Motor Carrier Manager Nerby started with Motor Carrier Services in 2003 and has been the Sioux Falls Port of Entry Manager since 2011. Not only is Manager Nerby responsible for the daily operations of the port, she also is a licensed inspector in several motor carrier categories and has attended training on issues such as the transportation of hazardous materials.


The awards were presented at a luncheon in Sioux Falls. This year’s program sponsors were the South Dakota Trucking Association, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association and AAA South Dakota.


The Highway Patrol is part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.