Agency RSS

DPS Announces November Sobriety Checkpoints

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, Nov. 1, 2021

Contact: Tony Mangan, Public Information Officer, 605-773-6196


DPS Announces November Sobriety Checkpoints


PIERRE, S.D. – November’s list of sobriety checkpoints has been announced by the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.


The monthly checkpoints are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving. There are 17 checkpoints scheduled for 14 counties during the month.


Sobriety checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Beadle, Brown, Brule, Butte, Codington, Davison, Hughes, Jones, Lake, Lawrence, Minnehaha, Pennington, Spink, and Yankton.


Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.


The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.


Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.